MINUTES OF THE *INAUGURAL COUNCIL MEETING* HELD IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS ON WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 7, 2018 AT 4:00PM

PRESENT:Mayor Clarke, Councillors A. Yofonoff, L. Main, K. Gordon, T. GordonABSENT:H. Elliott, Chief Administrative Officer

A. SWEARING IN OF COUNCIL ELECT

At 4:00 pm Chief Administrative Officer, H. Elliott administered the Oath of Council: Mayor Elect – Jason Clarke Councillor Elect – K. Gordon Councillor Elect – T. Gordon Councillor Elect – L. Main Councillor Elect – A. Yofonoff

His Worship, Mayor Jason Clarke called the meeting to order at 4:13 pm.

B. <u>THE VILLAGE OF SILVERTON ACKNOWLEDGES THE INDIGENOUS</u> <u>PEOPLES ON WHOSE TRADITIONAL TERRITORIES WE STAND</u>

C. ADDITION OF LATE ITEMS IF ANY

None at this time.

D. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

115/2018 - Moved, seconded that the Agenda be adopted as presented.

CARRIED

E. ADOPTION OF THE MINUTES

None at this time.

F. DELEGATIONS AND PETITIONS

None at this time.

G. UNFINISHED BUSINESS/BUSINESS ARISING

None at this time.

H. <u>NEW BUSINESS</u>

H1. RDCK/COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS

116/2018 - Moved, seconded That Silverton Council appoint the following Council appointments:

2018-19 Council Appointments

| | Appointment | Alternate |
|-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|--------------|------------------|
| RDCK Director | Leah Main | Jason Clarke |
| Slocan District Chamber of Commerce | Kerry Gordon | Arelene Yofonoff |
| Municipal Emergency Management | Kerry Gordon | Tanya Gordon |
| Board of Variance | Vacant | |
| West Kootenay Boundary Regional Hospital Board | Leah Main | Jason Clarke |
| Slocan Valley Economic Development Commission (RDCK Director and one community member) | Leah Main | Barbara Fuhrer |

| Recreation Commission No. 6 | | Councillor Yofonoff |
|---------------------------------------------------------------|--------------|----------------------------------|
| (RDCK Requires one Council appointment and one community | Tanya Gordon | Community member: Eva Shandro |
| member and alternate) | | Alternate: Monique Wood |
| Rosebery Parklands and Trails | | |
| Commission | Leah Main | Hank Hastings |
| (RDCK Director and one community member) | | |
| Winlaw Regional and Nature Park Commission (RDCK director) | Leah Main | N/A |
| Slocan District CoC- Health Committee | Leah Main | N/A |
| Ktunaxa Kinbasket Treaty Advisory | | |
| Committee (TAC) | Tanya Gordon | Leah Main |
| Slocan Lake Arts Council Liaison | Jason Clarke | Arlene Yofonoff |

2018-19 ACTING MAYOR SCHEDULE

| NOV, DEC, JAN, FEB (2018-19) |
|------------------------------|
| MAR, APRIL, MAY, JUNE (2019) |
| JULY, AUG, SEPT (2019) |
| OCT, NOV, DEC (2019) |
| |

CARRIED

H2. MIA VOTING APPOINTMENTS

117/2018 - Moved, seconded That Silverton Council appoint the following Voting Delegates for MIA:

| Voting Delegate: | Councillor Leah Main |
|------------------|----------------------------|
| Alternate #1: | Mayor Jason Clarke |
| Alternate #2: | Councillor Tanya Gordon |
| Alternate #3: | Councillor Kerry Gordon |
| Alternate #4: | Councillor Arlene Yofonoff |

H3. MFA SIGNATORIES

118/2018 - Moved, seconded That Silverton Council appoint all five Village of Silverton Council members, CFO Colin McClure, and CAO Hillary Elliott as MFA signatories.

CARRIED

H4. APPOINTMENT FOR KTUNAXA KINBASKET TREATY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Refer to item H1.

H5. CHIEF ELECTION OFFICER – REPORT OF ELECTION RESULTS

119/2018 - Moved, seconded That Silverton Village Council accept the Chief Elections Officer Report as presented.

CARRIED

H6. SCHEDULING OF ORIENTATION AND BUDGET MEETINGS 2018-2019

Discussion.

I. CORRESPONDENCE FOR INFORMATION

None at this time.

J. COUNCIL REPORTS

None at this time.

K. ADMINISTRATION REPORTS

CAO Report received for information.

L. BYLAWS AND POLICY

None at this time.

M. PUBLIC INPUT PERIOD/PRESS

None at this time.

N. <u>IN CAMERA MEETING</u>:

None at this time.

O. ITEMS BROUGHT FORWARD FROM IN CAMERA

None at this time.

P. ADJOURNMENT

120/2018 – Moved that Council adjourn at 5:26 pm.

CERTIFIED CORRECT:

Mayor Clarke

Chief Administrative Officer